• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

amresh

amresh

• Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Trinidad and Tobago

hi all...
im a newbie... into model builder who is trying to broaden mi knowledge base.....lol

what im trying to do is... merge a large number of polylines into one large polyline using model builder

i dragged across the merge tool from the toolbox.... and i can individually create a connection from each polyline to the merge process.i will have to click the input features (parameter) for each connection

i was wondering if there is any way i can multi select all d polylines and connect them as a batch to the merger process, as this process is time consuming considering i have 53 polylines to do.

thanking you in advance for any help rendered :)

klacefield

klacefield

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts
  • United States

I have not found a quick way in model builder to connect multiple layers to a process at once. The only two ways I am aware of is to use the "Add Connection" tool and connect the layers one at a time or to double click on the process, Merge in this case, and then use the drop down menu in the Input Datasets section to select the layers for use in the tool. If the naming of your intermediate layers is easily understood then the second approach is sometimes the faster way; however I tend to just use the "Add Connection" tool. I look forward to seeing if anyone else knows another way using ModelBuilder.

Cheers,

Kevin
Kevin Lacefield, GIS Programmer Analyst
County of Sonoma
Information Systems Department - GIS Central

dsl

dsl

Master Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 225 posts
  • United States