• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

Dimaras

Dimaras

• Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Greece

Hello

i'm a student in geomatics and i have a problem to my project. My project is related with designing contour lines..
As you can see to the map i have contour lines shapefile that are like polygon, in spite of being more curvy. I would like to find methods and advices how could i change and generalize the shape of these lines.. i would like to make them more curvy.

I use the Arcgis software.. The map is in this picture.

Attached File  _____________________.jpg   259.72KB   106 downloads

I need help.

Thank you!

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,898 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands

What's your DEM resolution and what's your output contour interval? At first glance I would say your DEM isn't nearly accurate enough for the contour interval you've chosen.
Hans van der Maarel - Cartotalk Editor
Red Geographics
Email: hans@redgeographics.com / Twitter: @redgeographics

Sv_BG

Sv_BG

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts
  • Bulgaria

I think you have to use the Focal statistics tool (Arctoolbox --> Spatial analyst tools --> Neighbourhood) in order to smooth the DEM and after that to create good looking contour line set from it.

I recommend this ESRI's article - http://www.esri.com/...oolglaciers.pdf

So, have a nice reading and good luck :)

James Hines

James Hines

James Anthony Hines

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 545 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, Philosophy, Politics, Psychology, Economics, Occultism, Spiritualism
  • Canada