• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

milare

milare

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Greece

Hello im a student and i had found this map and i liked a lot...i need to design the same backround and i cant find the way to design it..if someone experienced knows anything about this topic i would be glad to help me...
i use the ArcGis software for this project..and my datas are the contour lines...

Map i had found.

thanx.

frax

frax

Hall of Fame

• Associate Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,312 posts
  • Interests:music, hiking, friends, nature, photography, traveling. and maps!
  • Sweden

Hi and welcome!

So you have contour lines, and you want to create a shaded relief from them, right? Do you have the spatial analyst for ArcGIS?

Your work flow would be to first create a TIN out of the contours, and then a gridded elevation model out of that (with the cells having the elevation value) - and finally a shaded relief image from that.

I don't know the exact steps, but the help function and tutorials you can find on the net should be able to help you. You might also want to search on this forum for terms like TIN and ArcGIS.

Your fellow students and instructions should also be able to help you, I hope!

And good luck!
Hugo Ahlenius
Nordpil - custom maps and GIS
http://nordpil.com/
Twitter

Esther Mandeno

Esther Mandeno

Master Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 198 posts
  • United States

Map i had found.

Hey! That's my map!!

Hi Milare,

I'm glad that you like it. :D You have made my day!