• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

Asli

Asli

• Pip
  • 3 posts
  • No Country Selected

Hi everyone,

My name is Asli,I am from Norway.I am an IT student,but doing my thesis in GIS analysis. My question is, i have two shape files from different sources.When i open them separately in arcmap they both work fine ,but when i try to open them together as different layers on the same page, only the first one i open is visible.I check there projection and make it the same.

I am new to GIS. Please help me how i can fix this.By the way i am using ArcGIS 9.3.

Sv_BG

Sv_BG

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts
  • Bulgaria

How exactly did you "make" their projection the same? Did you transform one of the shapefile's projection, to fit the other shapefile, by the project tool from the arctoolbox, or just changed it (simply selected another one)? I think that might be the problem. Try to reproject the shapefile using the tool form the arctoolbox.

In fact I think both of the layers are visible (you can see them in Arcmap), but they are not projected at the same place. Try to zoom to each of the layers (right click and zoom to layer) and probably you will be able to see them.

Some info from the available arcgis help :

Coordinate systems and data frames
To display your data correctly, a data frame uses a coordinate system. This can be any coordinate system ArcGIS supports. The data frame's coordinate system need not be the same as the data you are using, although if ArcMap has to project your data on the fly, it does take longer to draw.