- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

taiga

taiga

• Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Canada

Hello .. newbie here looking for general advice (links, books, concepts) for map design related to black and white maps. Also tips for maps originally designed in colour, but are printed in black and white on the standard office printer or even photocopied from the source document.

Thanks.

drcartography

drcartography

• Pip
  • 2 posts
  • United States

Hello .. newbie here looking for general advice (links, books, concepts) for map design related to black and white maps. Also tips for maps originally designed in colour, but are printed in black and white on the standard office printer or even photocopied from the source document.

Thanks.

taiga,

If you are working in pure black and white, I'm not sure of a good resource. If, however, you are using grayscale, I recommend checking out colorbrewer.org. It has some good recommendations on what K values to use. It is particularly helpful for thematic mapping.

Lastly, I would be happy to take a look at a draft. I have some experience working in grayscale and would be glad to offer any advice I can.

Daniel
http://sites.google..../drcartography/

Dennis McClendon

Dennis McClendon

Hall of Fame

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,076 posts
  • Interests:map design, large-scale maps of cities
  • United States

Luckily, many of us have been able to move toward more colour in recent years, but for book and newspaper reproduction, b&w is still a consideration. For inspiration, there's a desktop publishing book called The Gray Book: Designing in Black & White on Your Computer from 1990, with cool examples (but no maps, specifically).