6 replies to this topic

Nicholas_C

Nicholas_C

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
  • United States

Hi all. Been reading (I hate to use the term "lurking") Cartotalk for a while now and finally set up an account. Lots of great information on here. Thanks so much to the creator(s) and moderators.

About me:
My favorite color is blue, my favorite food is tacos, and my favorite liquid is beer. My dog is an awesome golden retriever/chow mix. I could use a new truck and my knees hurt a lot. My pet peeve is the geographic projection used for maps of the entire Lower 48.

I've always been interested in maps and geography. In college I got a degree in Environmental Geology w/ a focus in GIS (we were using Arc versions 3.x then). While in school I also took a lot of art and graphic design courses l and I strive to incorporate those principles into even the most simple GIS map. Hoping to do a MS/Phd in Geography/Geology sometime in the near future.

Since college I've worked in rockfall mitigation, as an avalanche control technician, as an environmental regulator, and as a backcountry ski, mountaineering, and whitewater river guide. All the while making and using maps, and further developing my interest in, and appreciation of, maps and cartography.

Currently I'm doing a bit of freelance GIS analysis and map design. I'm trying to focus on what I know, which is the naturals hazards, environmental, and extreme sports/outdoor recreation industries. Right now cartography/GIS is more of a part-time gig and I'm paying the bills by guiding for Silverton Mountain and Shasta Mountain Guides, among others.

My business website is AlpengloMapping.com if you're interested. Also, in response to a lot of general hazards-related questions, I put together the website NatHazMap.com. I'd love any feedback on the sites. They're both works in progress at this point so go easy on me.