8 replies to this topic

relaing

relaing

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Canada

Hello
Here is a sample of a status map we use in search and rescue. I have only been working with ArcGIS desktop 9.3 for a couple of months (self-taught), so I am still learning.
These types of maps need to be created rather quickly, so there is not a lot of time for some of the niceties seen in other maps. That being said, they still have to be clear and show the information required, much the same as a Fire Incident map.
Comments and criticisms welcomed!

Rick

Richard Laing
Team Manager,
Ridge Meadows Search and Rescue
Attached File  Hope_sar.jpg   863.34KB   189 downloads

klacefield

klacefield

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts
  • United States

Since GPS is a widely used tool for SAR I would recommend adding a coordinate grid to the map. Our Sheriff's Dept has made this request for some of the maps we do for them. On our Fire Run Book we also have the coordinates for the helo zones, per a request from the fire personnel.

To add a grid simply go into the data frame properties, then the Grids tab. The New Grid button will take you through a wizard for creating the grid.
Kevin Lacefield, GIS Programmer Analyst
County of Sonoma
Information Systems Department - GIS Central

Dustin Edge

Dustin Edge

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 31 posts
  • Australia

Hi Richard

I agree.....a grid showing coordinates will definitely help.

For your contours, you want to symbolise index contours with a thicker line or color.
Its not too hard to create a field in your attribute table to differentiate index contours from everything else. (two-step process using Select by Attributes & Field Calculator)

Other than that....the map is easy on the eye and works well.....

Cheers

Dustin
Kind Regards,

Dustin

Dustin Edge
Snr GIS Analyst
AECOM Australia

relaing

relaing

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Canada