4 replies to this topic

lauraf

lauraf

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Italy

Hi all,

I am starting working on the Illustrator cs4/mapubisher 8 package and I have read this nice forum for some time, before deciding to post my first question (two, actually).
The problem is the following: I have many linear features (straight) and need to measure their azimuth. Illustrator seems to measure angles anticlockwise starting from east: I suppose it is not possible to modify this setting and make it measure from north and clockwise, is it?
Second, I would like to have the azimuth automatically calculated in the attributes of my linear features, maybe deriving the value from some sort of expression, but I am not able to find any "angular field" associated to lines, instead it seems to work with point features ("rotation" field)... what am I doing wrong?

Maybe my questions are naive, but consider I am new to cartography, so please answer in a simple way!

Thank you so much for help in advance!

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,882 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands

The problem is the following: I have many linear features (straight) and need to measure their azimuth. Illustrator seems to measure angles anticlockwise starting from east: I suppose it is not possible to modify this setting and make it measure from north and clockwise, is it?

No. The math to calculate between the two is not terribly difficult though. New azimuth = (old azimuth - 90) * -1

So a straight north-south line, azimuth -90 according to Illustrator would get a new azimuth of 180