bob_media

bob_media

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts
  • United Kingdom

Hi!

While I’m not a cartographer I’m interested in the ways maps are drawn and the conventions used.

I came across Cartotalk while searching for ‘drawing maps using illustrator’ and what a find www.cartotalk.com has been.

I’m a writer and copy editor rather than an illustrator but this didn’t stop a hobby magazine (I was doing some copy-editing work) from asking me to provide a couple of simple ‘battle maps’ to illustrate an article about the battle for Blenheim 1704.

Great fun but a steep, steep, steep, steep learning curve using Illustrator CS4. Even so I’ve caught the bug and want to develop my ‘information mapping skills’ further.

In the past couple of weeks I’ve bought Designing better maps by Cynthia A Brewer, and Cartographic Relief Presentation by Eduard Imhof. However, apart from these there doesn’t seem to be many books that deal with the ‘graphic’ nature of maps. Obviously there are a great number of books that deal with GIS but not the traditional map drawing skills. Are there any? I'm sure there are but I've yet to discover them.

I've already found the site very interesting and helpful. Where else would you find a discussion on hachures and I look forward to reading how someone coming-up with a simple technique to implement hachures using Illustrator?

Best wishes

Bob :D
OS X 10.5.8
Mac Mini
Adobe Creative Suite 4

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,868 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands

Hi Bob, and welcome to Cartotalk.

Hmmm... another book recommendation I can make is "Making Maps" by John Krygier and Dennis Wood. Aside from that one and the ones you have already, it may be worth checking out the works of Edward Tufte and perhaps Bertin's "Semiologie Graphique" (though I've never read any).