5 replies to this topic

d_say

d_say

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Australia

Hello to everyone on Carto Talk.

My name is Dean and like all of you I love maps :)

A bit about myself.
Well I'm 23 and I live in Melbourne, Australia.
I have graduated and obtained a diploma in Cartography and Geographical Visualization at RMIT University in Melbourne.
After graduating from RMIT I now work as an Associate Lecturer at RMIT teaching the same course that I graduated from. I am now in my second year of teaching and love it!
I work closely with William Cartwright (President of the ICA) in teaching subjects such as 'Cartography' (1, 2 and 3) along with other subjects such as 'Cartography and Geographical Visualization' (1, 2 and 3).
Within these subjects I teach the students a variety of programs such as:
- Adobe Illustrator
- Adobe Photoshop
- Adobe Dreamweaver
- Adobe Flash
- Adobe InDesign
- Google SketchUp
and a few other odds and ends.

I am very interested in the design and publication of cartographic products along with new and emerging technologies that enable us to represent the spatial world that surrounds us.
I have done some work within ArcGIS analyzing data throughout my course, however the actual design and map creation for various kinds of media has grabbed my main attention as this is what really interests me. I love being creative and letting my mind come up with new and interesting ideas. I'm always willing to play around and experiment with new programs that could be of use to map creation and visualization.

I also love to travel whenever the opportunities arises.
So far i have been to Fiji (A field trip while in my second year at RMIT). Last year I decided to do a trip to America and Canada for around 3 weeks where i got to see Vegas and New York and then this year in June I went over to New Zealand for 10 days on a Snowboarding trip with a few friends. I just love to see and travel the world!