• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

chris henrick

chris henrick

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 46 posts
  • Interests:cartography, graphic design, geography, urban studies, political ecology, cycling, percussion
  • United States

Hello,

I am new to cartography and am very excited about it. I recently finished my undergrad in geography and urban studies at Temple University in Philadelphia but now live in the SF bay area. I also had previously studied fine art, mainly drawing and printmaking, at University of the Arts in Philadelphia for several years before I decided to switch to geography. I took a couple intro classes in both GIS and cartographic productions at Temple, but am leaning more towards the end of wanting to design maps rather than be a GIS analyst. I'm currently enrolled in illustrator and graphic design classes at a post baccalaureate program.

I am also currently working on a project with the help of a professional cartographer in the Philadelphia area of creating a print map with an online component for a bicycle touring route in Pennsylvania. The map will be similar to what the Adventure Cycling Association does, sort of like a fold up guide book / map. Right now I am still researching a lot of the route data and talking to interested people from various bicycling advocacy organizations.

I figured the best way to get into cartography was to just jump right into it, create something, and have my name on it as a sample for future work. I am still very much a beginner and learning as I go, so having the support of experienced professionals would be a huge help. I am unsure at this point whether or not to pursue further certification / credentialing in school at this time, but am open to exploring programs that relate to cartography, geography, and political ecology.

Thanks everyone, and I look forward to becoming a part of the carto talk community!

-Chris
-Chris

DaveB

DaveB

Hall of Fame

• Validated Member