David25

David25

Key Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 70 posts
  • Canada

Hello,

This is a map that I produced of North Dakota. It was only for fun and not for a work project. The 'intended audience' in mind is visitors to ND but I was thinking of it to be used as a general reference road map too.
It was all done using ArcView 9.2.

I would very much appreciate ANY comments, critical especially. I am relatively new to cartography and GIS and want to increase my learning through map making if possible.

Some things to note perhaps:

Are the labels placed correctly?
I know the DEM is not necessary but does it look good as a background? I tried hillshade too but think this looks better.
Does the legend read well?
Do the colours and use of halos get my messages across?
I tried the font for the first time....does it work?

Thanks everyone!

Attached Files

Esther Mandeno

Esther Mandeno

Master Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 198 posts
  • United States

Hello David,

Thank you for sharing your map.

Here are my thoughts:
Upon opening the file, the first thing that I thought was that it was very BROWN. I'm not sure the background really adds that much. You could use a brownish hillshade and give it a transparency of like 80% or something so that it's very subtle while still conveying the sense of elevation (and so that you don't end up with blankets of white).

I think the font you used for the cities is fun but I would get rid of the halos.

Let's see, I would probably also think of a different way to position the map title. As it is, you have North Dakota and then Canada right underneath it. Did North Dakota leave the union? I don't blame 'em if they have! ;)

That's my two cents worth. Hope it helps!
------
Esther Mandeno
Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance you must keep moving. - Albert Einstein

Gushue

Gushue

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • United States

David,