3 replies to this topic

AlexOult0n1985

AlexOult0n1985

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Australia

Hi, thanks for reading.

I am fairly new to the world of programming and have been asked to produce a tool which can:

1) Read in a comma delimited text file containing n point features
2) Compare the x y coordinates of each point feature to see whether they intersect a known polygon
3) Write the results to an output a text file to say which points intersect the polygon

I need to add functionality, so that I define a buffer for the polygon.

I am considdering the possibility of using python to modify the select by location tool? Would this be possible? If so, couldd you please point me in the right direcxtion as to how i might accomplish this, or any code libraries if this kind of thing has already been done

Thanks,

Alex.

Environmental GIS Officer, Department of Conservation
alexoulton@live.co.uk

frax

frax

Hall of Fame

• Associate Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,312 posts
  • Interests:music, hiking, friends, nature, photography, traveling. and maps!
  • Sweden

What software do you have handy? ArcGIS I suspect, since you bring up Python...
Hugo Ahlenius
Nordpil - custom maps and GIS
http://nordpil.com/
Twitter

AlexOult0n1985

AlexOult0n1985

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Australia

What software do you have handy? ArcGIS I suspect, since you bring up Python...

Yes Im running ArcGIS 9.3, should have mentioned that earlier sorry...

dsl

dsl

Master Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 225 posts
  • United States