7 replies to this topic

joseph

joseph

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Australia

Hi guys!

I'm fairly new to GIS and to ArcGIS. I'm currently attempting to model an area for a project on Tsunamis and their affects on the coastline. I was hoping to be able to model a region and create an animation in which to present. Is it possible to model these affects using ArcGIS and if so, how?

I have already gathered all the data required, i just need a method developing the model.

Any help would be appreciated,

Thanks,
Joseph

axel

axel

Key Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Sweden

I am not sure I can help you out with the visualisation per se, but I am very interested in you project! I am involved in a research project regarding the 2004 tsunami impact along the Phang Nga, Thai coast line myself.
I do have been playing around with the thought of using Sketchup for a simple 3D visualization of the water runup. I did some tests and it just might be doable. But I am still in the process of collecting the data I need/want. I was hoping to have a presentation ready this winter (5 yrs since the tsunami), but as this is just a hobby of mine, it might take a long time to finnish. If it ever will happen... :)

MapMedia

MapMedia

Hall of Fame

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,029 posts
  • United States

Joseph - you may want to check in with ESRI modeling and civil engineering forums for this sort of subject.

What is the end result you are perusing?

joseph

joseph

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Australia

Joseph - you may want to check in with ESRI modeling and civil engineering forums for this sort of subject.

What is the end result you are perusing?

hi mapmedia!

im hoping to be able to create an animation to model the affects of a tsunami varying on the intensity of water pressure over a coastline. This is to show the areas of land that would be affected if a tsunami was ever to occur.