• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

tsegi

tsegi

• Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Ethiopia

Hi,

I am an informatics student and i wanted to do a project on mapping malaria cases using GIS .Just to see how GIS can be helpful on controling malaria.I might not need real data,ofcours I don't have any data at hand now.So my question is Where can i start.Do i have to collect data first?I need clue on how i can start.
thanks.

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,900 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands

Hi Tsegi, and welome to Cartotalk.

Yes, I would start with collecting data first. Get a feel for it so that you then decide what you want to do with it.
Hans van der Maarel - Cartotalk Editor
Red Geographics
Email: hans@redgeographics.com / Twitter: @redgeographics

gregsd

gregsd

Master Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 169 posts
  • Interests:Cycling, mostly off-road (MTB) riding.
  • United Kingdom

Hi,

I am an informatics student and i wanted to do a project on mapping malaria cases using GIS .Just to see how GIS can be helpful on controling malaria.I might not need real data,ofcours I don't have any data at hand now.So my question is Where can i start.Do i have to collect data first?I need clue on how i can start.
thanks.

Welcome. This article over on the DirectionsMag portal might be of interest -

http://www.direction...article_id=3215

Greg.

Greg Driver

GIS Analyst
MapInfo User...!

MapMedia

MapMedia

Hall of Fame

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,029 posts
  • United States

Hi - Welcome to Cartotalk!

You want to map malaria cases for a school GIS project? I would get the data from teh UN World Health Organization (WHO) or Ethiopian government or non-profit group.