• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

Sakura

Sakura

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • New Zealand

Hi, I'm new at all of this so please bear with me and my questions :)

I have a project and need some ideas:

How would you map your life? - How would you present the information in a visual form?

How would you symbolise your places of interest , using symbols and colour schemes that add interesting content to the base maps?

Base maps - I'm using Google Earth at the moment, but any other sofware suggestions for this are welcome (preferably free ones).

I had an idea to place different symbols for different themes - like where I've lived, places I would like to travel and places I've studied etc, any suggestons would be great.

Esther Mandeno

Esther Mandeno

Master Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 198 posts
  • United States

How would you map your life? - How would you present the information in a visual form?

Hey Sakura,

That's a very interesting idea. Will the final form be in digital format?

The first thing that came to my mind was to have a digital timeline with links to maps at key points in my life. Not sure if that would work but that's what came to mind.

Whatever route you ended up going, it would be interesting to see the results.

Good luck!
------
Esther Mandeno
Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance you must keep moving. - Albert Einstein

MapMedia

MapMedia

Hall of Fame

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,029 posts
  • United States

well, maybe graduated circles, one for pain, one for pleasure.

Jean-Louis

Jean-Louis

Ultimate Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 545 posts
  • Interests:In the vast ocean of my ignorance, I have a few bubbles of interests
  • Canada

That would be a very exciting project to do.
I would go in the direction of imaginary maps.