yeneneshabebe

yeneneshabebe

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 45 posts
  • Ethiopia

Hi all,
I am a regular visitor and member of this forum. I used a lot by this discussion forum . Now I want your help again.
I am a GIS expert but new for programming. I want to learn programming language that is more relevant to my job. Please could you help me which language to select among the following:

C sharp
C++
Visual basic.net

Thank you in advance

Yenenesh Abebe

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,898 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands

C sharp
C++
Visual basic.net

This is probabely not going to help you much, but I think you should add Python to your list as well ;)

Your question is most easily answered by another one: which GIS application do you currently use and what language(s) does that offer for scripting. This recent discussion might be a good one to read through.
Hans van der Maarel - Cartotalk Editor
Red Geographics
Email: hans@redgeographics.com / Twitter: @redgeographics

François Goulet

François Goulet

Ultimate Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 689 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, History, Graphic Design and almost everything else...
  • Canada

You should also ask yourself what you want to do with the programming... Geoprocessing? Customization?

I think I remember that you're working with Arc, so if you want to automate processes, Python could be a good scripting language to learn. If what you want to do is create custom tools for ArcGIS, ArcObject with VBA is really easy and fast to learn, but for what I have heard (can't remember my source though), C++ applications are faster within Arc, but maybe a little less user friendly, since the VBA macro editor is built-in in ArcGIS (alt + F11 will lead you straight to it)

yeneneshabebe

yeneneshabebe

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip