6 replies to this topic

Chris G

Chris G

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • United Kingdom

Hello,

I've been working on this for week, as I am very new to using the tool of the GIS/Cartography trade. I'm hoping to create a recreational map (1:20,000 approx) of a canoe route along the Moon River in Ontario, and would like to make use of shaded relief to give the map that extra bit of styling.

I have a 10 meter DEM that I've downloaded from GeoBase (Canada), which look something like this:
http://www.chrisgars...m/stuff/DEM.png

I then resample it to a much higher resolution, something like this:
http://www.chrisgars...M_resampled.png

Then I try the shaded relief:
http://www.chrisgars.../DEM_shaded.png

I'm a little confused when the shaded relief is so coarse, when the inital DEM was resampled to such a high resolution. I've been playing with all kinds of settings in GRASS and ArcMap to try and get this to appear better, but to no avail.

Should I now be taking this into a paint program to clean up? Is there a break in my process that is preventing the shading from being smoother?

Ideally, I'd like to drape some vector contours over this to really make it look slick. A good example of what I'm trying to do can be found here:

http://www.mindbird.com/2f770f2f0.jpg

You will have to excuse my newness. I have looked around at many website discussing this topic, but there's a very wide range of potential solutions, and many of them are dealing with small scale maps.

Thanks for any help,
Regards,
Chris

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,860 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands

I'm a little confused when the shaded relief is so coarse, when the inital DEM was resampled to such a high resolution. I've been playing with all kinds of settings in GRASS and ArcMap to try and get this to appear better, but to no avail.