7 replies to this topic

marcotk

marcotk

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • No Country Selected

Dear all,

I am not an expert of maps and/or their design but I want to learn how to draw map showing the evolutions of military battles. Just to make sure it is clear what I am looking for this is an old military map http://www.armchairg...une27_28_44.jpg
What I am looking to draw are very neat modern looking maps like the ones found in this book (can see an example in the cover (sorry for the quality): http://www.collectru...ages/yy/493.jpg

I'd be very grateful if you could point me out to the right choice of software and how to go about it.

Thanks,
Best Regards

Nick H

Nick H

Legendary Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 307 posts
  • United Kingdom

I guess you'll be starting with something like a scanned base map? Before you start spending money you might like to have a look at Inkscape, see:

Inkscape Web Site

This was done with Inkscape (not by me!):

http://upload.wikime...of_Waterloo.svg

Regards, N.
Caversham, Reading, England.

marcotk

marcotk

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • No Country Selected

Thanks Nick!

Ok, that seems to be a pretty good vector editor..!
However I am not going to scan any maps, I would like to start from a "plain map" (meaning a background color, cities, rivers, lakes, borders - like in the book cover I showed you in the previous post).. How do you guys usually go about to get such a thing? Do you buy it? Do you build it yourself with the GIS (I have been reading about it)? (If so, with what program?) I guess all the rest is made within a graphical editor.

The waterloo map, altough is a nice one, is really not the graphical touch I am lookign for: poor "icons and arrows" (no shadows..very geometric shapes..), and most of all no map-like background!

Looking forward to learn,
Best Regards

Edited by marcotk, 20 July 2009 - 01:07 PM.

marcotk

marcotk

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts