4 replies to this topic

mikehall02

mikehall02

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • United States

Hi All,

I'm new to cartography and am slowly making my way through a GIS certificate program at Northeastern University.
I'm also interested in someday self-publishing trail maps but have a very limited budget.

I'm wondering if its realistic to produce/self-publish maps for sale with a recreational GPS?

I did a fair amount of research and found that most Garmin units are probably 95% accurate to within 10 meters in open conditions and 20 to 40 meters under canopy. I also came across the NMAS standards that say maps at 1:20,000 or larger should be accurate to within 1/30 inch and a handy table that relates this to GPS accuracy.
(not sure why 1:24,000 requires more accuracy than 1:20,000)

NMAS Standards 90% Accuracy
Map Scale 1:x Feet +/- Meters +/-
10000 28 8.38
12000 33 10.06
20000 55 16.76
24000 40 12.19

Do recreational/local interest maps adhere to this standard? Are there legal/ethical considerations when publishing a map like this? Should maps have disclaimers with regards to accuracy?

Thanks,
Mike

Eric Wolf

Eric Wolf

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
  • United States

Mike,

The accuracy of your GPS is really unimportant when making maps. The GPS tracks just become a general guide.

Check out OpenStreetMap and go to your closest Mapping Party. You'll learn much more about the mechanics of creating maps from scratch using a GPS than any GIS class will teach you.

mikehall02

mikehall02

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • United States

Could someone elaborate on this a bit? I guess I'm still confused. If your data for a trail or some other feature is inaccurate, doesn't that make your map inaccurate too? More so if it's large scale?

Speak slowly and use little words and hopefully I'll catch on.. :)

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,801 posts