• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

hsn22

hsn22

• Pip
  • 3 posts
  • No Country Selected

hey,

im new to the GIS community, and have been reading up a lot. but have been unable to find a solution for my problem.
its quite simply this: i have a bunch of street maps which i have to put online. from what ive read, i know i have to
1. georefernece them
2. create shapefiles
3. create mapfiles and put them on mapserver

while i realise im making it sound simple, i do know the enormity of the task ahead.
my question is this though: because i have a bunch of maps, do i have to *stitch* them together or is it enough to georeference them and mapserver will understand that?
i did read something somewhere which said i could combine these multiple shapefiles into one. is that an efficient way to go?

i know i might sound silly with these questions, but im just a novice, so thanks for bearing me.

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,890 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands

my question is this though: because i have a bunch of maps, do i have to *stitch* them together or is it enough to georeference them and mapserver will understand that?
i did read something somewhere which said i could combine these multiple shapefiles into one. is that an efficient way to go?

i know i might sound silly with these questions, but im just a novice, so thanks for bearing me.

Okay, first of all, a scanned image is a raster file, whereas shapefiles are vector files. In other words, there is no quick easy way to go from a scanned image to a shapefile.

If you have multiple scanned maps that you've georeferenced, a map-server should be able to display them as-is. However, for ease of use, I'd recommend mosaicking them anyway.
Hans van der Maarel - Cartotalk Editor
Red Geographics
Email: hans@redgeographics.com / Twitter: @redgeographics

hsn22

hsn22

• Pip