Tommo

Tommo

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
  • New Zealand

Hey Guys

Its been a background intention of mine to start working on a web interface for a Minerals Exploration Database. The database holds information on the following:

• Drilling sites and drillhole progression
  • Planning information - landowner details, access routes, etc
  • longer term scheduling information
  • data collected from each drillhole

What I'd initially like to do is build up a web interface that shows a 'clickable' map to bring up more detail on each site, ie. click on the proposed hole and it could bring up a gant chart in a separate panel showing project progression, or bring up the drillhole log in another panel, etc, etc.

As I'm new to this, my internet research is leading to more questions than answers! AJAX seems like a good development path to bring the tabular data to the end user, but is this a feasible technology from the mapping side? Is Flash a better working environment? Thoughts & comments?

Has anyone done this sort of development before? Has anyone used the GeoVISTA suite? This seems like it holds some potential.

The most promising path to my inexperienced eye seems to be extending something such as the UDig platform - again, anyone with experience here?

Thanks in advance.
Tommo

Crischan

Crischan

Master Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 199 posts
  • Interests:Spatial Information Design
  • Germany

There are many ways to go here. One could be:

First, you probably want a WMS/WFS server to produce your maps dynamically. I use GeoServer for some research projects. Then on the client side I use OpenLayers for which HTML/CSS/JavaScript knowledge comes handy. uDig is another client I use, but not so much yet.
For your gantt charts I would recommend looking at BIRT, which can produce nice reports on the server while giving you a nice GUI to design your reports.
Crischan Wygoda
http://wygoda.net

coldfusionPaul