whiters

whiters

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • Russian Federation

Hi!

Mapmaking is my hobby and I draw maps just for fun.
This map represents urban area of fictional place.

What does professional society think about amateur's work?
Attached File  dolton_urban_area.png   568.17KB   202 downloads
------------------
Andrew Whiters.

Nick H

Nick H

Legendary Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 307 posts
  • United Kingdom

Mapmaking is my hobby and I draw maps just for fun.
This map represents urban area of fictional place.

What does professional society think about amateur's work?

I'm not a professional map-maker either I'm afraid. The map is rather beautiful, I'd lose the grid and put a border around it.

Regards, N.
Caversham, Reading, England.

François Goulet

François Goulet

Ultimate Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 688 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, History, Graphic Design and almost everything else...
  • Canada

I'd say the color are nice, labels are quite clear and it looks like a "real" map from a road atlas (minus highway shields and numbers... which could be add imho...).

:)

MapMedia

MapMedia

Hall of Fame

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,029 posts
  • United States

Very nice actually. I was thinking you used a tablet to trace a map, but since its fictional, I'll assume you drew it by hand in your drawing program (which is?).
Overall it is clean and I like the landcover classes: urban, non-urban, forest, water.

A few things:

1. Label the highways and major roads (use your imagination)
2. One label per waterbody is fine. You can stretch out Antre River quite a bit. One Isenian Sea is fine.
3. A labeling rule is to place waterbody label completely inside or outside the feature, not half in/out, but I have seen this rule broken as often as I have seen it followed.
4. A little box with description of © (P) (L) circles.