• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

François Goulet

François Goulet

Ultimate Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 688 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, History, Graphic Design and almost everything else...
  • Canada

I have to develop, using VB and ArcObjects an application and one of the procedures is a NearestNeighbor without using any geoprocessing tools (to be sure it will work no matter what's le license level).

I have 1200 points in my "source" feature class and 550 points in my target one. With Hawths Tools, it takes about 6-7 seconds to create the output csv file contains the closest target point to each source. I had a couple of operations to do to those files so that's why I would like to program something.

I'm a beginner so I don't know all the methods and properties of all object. I try to do two loops, looking, one by one, with target point is nearest to each source points. That's 660,000 operations. My application is doing about 100 checks/seconds so that's roughly 1h50 minutes. It's ridiculous. I want to simplify my job, not giving me the time to go buy a coffee each time.

I didn't find any code explaining how I could do it in less that 10 seconds... :( Any clues?

Thanks!

dsl

dsl

Master Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 225 posts
  • United States

This is how I would approach it, but I don't know how fast this method will be.

Start looping through the points in the featureclass. I'll call it the pFeature variable.

Inside this loop:

buffer pfeature by some distance where the result is a polygon = pPolygon.

spatialfilter (intersect) pPolygon with the original featureclass to get a new featurecursor.

if the featurecount is 0

inside this if statement

do until featurecount > 0

double the distance and buffer, then run spatialfilter again

if the featurecount is 1 then you found the nearest point.