8 replies to this topic

smellykev

smellykev

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Australia

Yeah, as you might guess from the title, I'm a geographically confused Australian somewhere in China. I keep trying to ask where I am but the locals just throw sticks at me. I had a map to find my way home but it was etched with bone on dried panda skin and unfortunately the ants got to it.

I WAS an water planner/GIS operator in a cushy government job in aussie, but quit in one of those moments of frustration that only mindless bureacracy and incessant micro-managemant can create. Currently teaching english to apathetic and virtually comotose university students (actually, a great bunch of kids- i just had a bad day) but have been trying to sus out the GIS options in China (particularly in enviro management) but hampered by the paranoia towards foreigners (laowei)... ie- its considered a politically sensitive area.

I also work freelance as a newspaper and magazine cartoonist and have been doing some cartoony tourist maps for a company back home and am now considering further merging my so-called skills.

Anyway, just wanted to say ni hao or g'day. Bloody great site and wish i found it sooner.

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,856 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands

G'day mate ;)

Welcome to Cartotalk! Feel free to share some of your cartoon maps, I love those.
Hans van der Maarel - Cartotalk Editor
Red Geographics
Email: hans@redgeographics.com / Twitter: @redgeographics

Matthew Hampton

Matthew Hampton

Hall of Fame

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,295 posts
  • Interests:Playing in the mountains and rivers.
  • United States

Welcome SmellyKev!

I am glad you found us - your first post put a smile on my face and I look forward to more from you in the future. Keep up the good work.