6 replies to this topic

Bob Christensen

Bob Christensen

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • United States

Howdy folks,

I am delighted that I have found my way to this forum.

I live in a remote Wilderness setting in Southeast Alaska (no roads, no neighbors within 10 miles) but I manage to keep in touch with the big bad world via a satellite internet connection.

I have been working with GIS for about 6 years. I am self-taught and I still consider myself a novice work in progress. I am supported by the ESRI software donation program, a few local conservation groups, the occassional cash contract, and a lot of volunteer time.

My primary interests are with wildllife habitat and its relationship to our modification of the landscape through logging, tourism, mining, etc. I have worked primarily at very fine scales and with data that I have created on site but I am starting to branch out into landscape and regional scale considerations. :o

I recently participated in my first conference - the annual Society for Conservation GIS conference held in Asilomar California. I was brought down with a group of about 40 international scholars. I had a great time and had my eyes opened a thousand times over by interacting with conservation GIS folks from South America, Africa, Northern Europe, Indonesia, India, Russia, etc. etc.

I am looking forward to similar experiences here in the cartotalk forum.

Thanks for being here.

Bob

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,838 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands

Hi Bob, and welcome!

very fine scales

I think you mean: large scales ;)
Hans van der Maarel - Cartotalk Editor
Red Geographics
Email: hans@redgeographics.com / Twitter: @redgeographics

Derek Tonn

Derek Tonn

Legendary Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 455 posts
  • United States