7 replies to this topic

Except

Except

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Netherlands

Hello everyone!

I'm an architect and city planner, and I have become increasingly interested in making my own geographic maps from raw data, which brings me here. In my daily life I run the company Except (www.except.nl), which is a think-tank for sustainable development, an architecture and urban design office, and visualization outfit. Lots of stuff.

I'd like to start with making a world map. I have some editable illustrator maps but that's really insufficient. What direction should you recommend for someone like me? We have ArcGIS, but that's a pretty convoluted way to go about things... any suggestions?

Cheers,
Tom

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,868 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands

I'm an architect and city planner, and I have become increasingly interested in making my own geographic maps from raw data, which brings me here. In my daily life I run the company Except (www.except.nl), which is a think-tank for sustainable development, an architecture and urban design office, and visualization outfit. Lots of stuff.

I'd like to start with making a world map. I have some editable illustrator maps but that's really insufficient. What direction should you recommend for someone like me? We have ArcGIS, but that's a pretty convoluted way to go about things... any suggestions?

Hi Tom, and welcome to Cartotalk.

It kinda depends what you want to use your world map for, and how easy it should be to maintain, but setting up a good base in ArcGIS would be a good first step. Other than that, it kinda depends on what software you have and are comfortable with.
Hans van der Maarel - Cartotalk Editor
Red Geographics
Email: hans@redgeographics.com / Twitter: @redgeographics

DaveB

DaveB

Hall of Fame

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip