- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

georgew

georgew

• Pip
  • 9 posts
  • No Country Selected

Hi, I am totally new to ArcGis and overwhelmed by its scope and not sure whether the following is possible:
I have a set of topographic maps in shapefile format containing contours and walking tracks. The track data does not include elevation (only lat. and long.), but the contour lines do include elevation. Is it possible (and how?) to create an elevation profile for the length of the walking track using the intersecting points between the track and the contour lines to obtain the elevation values?
Many thanks for any assistance you can give me.
George

pradipgulekar

pradipgulekar

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Interests:Mapping GIS Photogrammetry.
  • India

Hi,

It is possible to give elevation to 2d data.
This process is called draping. You can assigned Z elevation to track by
using contour data.
You can move your data or Fix 2d data as per 3d elevated data without disturbing coordinates.

Regards,
Pradip L. Gulekar,
pradipgulekar@gmail.com

Note:- You can send me your files for testing.

gregory

gregory

Key Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Poland

Hi,
You will have to convert the countours to TIN first. Then use the TIN as the source of heights and convert tracks to 3d features, then generate profiles from 3d features. Depends on which version of Arc you're in disposition some extensions will be requied. I'm not sure which version (arceditor, arcinfo) allow create TIN from countours, but you will need for sure 3d analyst to create 3d lines and profiles from them. If you don't care to much about the accuracy you may also use upsampled SRTM '3 (vertical accuracy is about 20 meters) for you area of interest as the source of height and miss this way step with creating TIN from countours.
Hope it helps
Gregory

georgew

georgew

• Pip
  • 9 posts
  • No Country Selected

Hi,