Esther Mandeno

Esther Mandeno

Master Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 198 posts
  • United States

Hello Everyone,

I have a question. Do any of you participate in either of the above 'contractor-for-hire' websites? Or another similar website? I am interested in joining one (or two) and hopefully find work on these sites but I wasn't sure if it was worth it.

Any advice?

FYI - I'm a GIS consultant with my own very small business.

Thanks,
------
Esther Mandeno
Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance you must keep moving. - Albert Einstein

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,868 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands

I think James (Hasdrubal) is our resident eLance expert. I briefly tried it out but there's not a whole lot of GIS or cartography related stuff on there and usually you're trying to compete with people who charge rock bottom prices.
Hans van der Maarel - Cartotalk Editor
Red Geographics
Email: hans@redgeographics.com / Twitter: @redgeographics

ELeFevre

ELeFevre

Hall of Fame

• Associate Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,049 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, musical instruments, reading, hiking, craft beer
  • United States

I don't think elance is worth your time. I would focus on honing your craft, finding a niche, learning about marketing, building a website, et cetera. You have a much better chance of finding quality projects and building long-term working relationships through cartotalk than you ever will through elance. My 2 cents.

James Hines

James Hines

James Anthony Hines

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 537 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, Philosophy, Politics, Psychology, Economics, Occultism, Spiritualism
  • Canada