Photo

GIS newbie wants to overlay census and precinct maps and find areas of intersection

- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

ned

ned

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • United States

Hi everyone -

I am a grad student working on a paper and I need a little help.
I am new to GIS, so go easy on me :)

I am trying to determine how census blocks map into precincts in one county: San Diego.
[For those of you who don't know, census blocks are generally smaller than the precincts, but there is often overlap (one census block might be split by a precinct line).]

I have the shape files for both the precincts and the census blocks (they are free to download at http://www.sangis.or...d_GIS_Data.htm).

I would like to determine what percentage of each census lies in each precinct. So, basically, I want to overlap the maps and then figure out the areas of intersection (let me know if that does not make sense and I will clarify).

A few questions:
1) Is this possible?
2) I am interested in learning GIS - can I do this by myself or will it be too difficult (I have some programming skills but have never really used GIS...I do have access to arcgis)?
3) If I hired someone to do this, what is a reasonable rate? Does anyone know someone who would be interested?

Thanks for your help!
Ned

Edited by ned, 05 February 2009 - 03:24 PM.

p-dub

p-dub

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 45 posts
  • No Country Selected

Hi Ned,

My name is Patrick, I'm in my last semester of an undergrad GIS degree. I'm very interested in economic geography (Minor in Econ), and I did some work with census tracts last semester, so your question caught my eye.