Photo

Getting Started and Is This a Good Idea for Me?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

Steph Sorensen

Steph Sorensen

• Pip
  • 2 posts
  • United States

I am wondering if any of you can give me some advice. I have been using GIS applications for about 8 years now. While I don't know how to do any of the spacial or 3D analysis, I can produce just about any map anyone would want. I love it and would love to make a career out of my skills using GIS.

My main concern, however, is that I currently provide GIS graphics to clients in my current job. I am an Ecologist with an environmental firm, doing NEPA documentation and acting as our sole GIS graphics producer. While having access to clients that use my services already is a big plus, these are clients that are currently paying our company $107 per hour for my services! How could I start freelancing without stepping on any company toes? I would eventually quit my consulting job once I had sufficient GIS work to be able to do so, but until then, I really need my current job.

I would understand if some of you would think it would not be a good idea to freelance given my current position. However, if it is possible to start doing this, how do you recommend I go about getting started?

Thanks in advance!

Steph Sorensen

James Hines

James Hines

James Anthony Hines

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 537 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, Philosophy, Politics, Psychology, Economics, Occultism, Spiritualism
  • Canada

Employers frown upon self success stories especially when you are freelancing out those skills you use in your work place. So under no circumstances let your employer know your doing business outside the work place because if you are caught doing it that is considered being in competition with your employer & that can under many circumstances lead to your ultimate termination of employment. Therefore lets just say in simple terms conflict of interest.