Michael Karpovage

Master Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 173 posts
  • Interests:Making beautiful, functional maps
  • United States

Hello Fellow CartoTalk Members,

My name is Michael Karpovage and I'd like to introduce myself to the community here. I am an account executive and designer/illustrator with mapformation, LLC - based out of Springfield, Minnesota. Yet I work in a virtual position out of my home office down here in the Atlanta, GA area. Derek Tonn (a longtime member of CartoTalk and a great guy to boot!) is the owner of mapformation and I've been working for him going on five years now in a part time role. Recently however I took the plunge to go full time and pursue this "labor of love" that I have for map illustrations. I also have a freelance side business too called http://www.KarpovageCreative.com which touts my 18 years as a graphic designer, art director, and aspiring novelist.

So, back to mapformation....not only do I play the role of account exec -- finding leads, writing proposals, bringing in jobs for our team, but I also illustrate as well. I mostly specialize in the college and university campus map market niche but I've also designed maps for the Buffalo Bills and a few municipalities as well (Hollywood Boulevard and the Village of Waterloo, NY). I just finished my first overseas map for a resort city on the Med coast of Spain and currently I'm working on several other municipality map ideas.