- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

hotshot

hotshot

• Pip
  • 3 posts
  • United States

I'm a grad student in Urban Planning and we have a report on Planning Intelligence and Presentation of Land Use Information.

Wanna ask about quantification of mapped information. I searched several books and I'm still not enlighted with the topic.

Please enlighten me with the following topics.

- Qualitative Info
- Ordered Info
- Quantitative Info
- Interval Measurement Scale
- Ratio Measurement Scale
a.] Absolute Quantities
b.] Relative Quantities

Thanks in advance! More power to Cartotalk! :D

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,838 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands

I'm a grad student in Urban Planning and we have a report on Planning Intelligence and Presentation of Land Use Information.

Wanna ask about quantification of mapped information. I searched several books and I'm still not enlighted with the topic.

Please enlighten me with the following topics.

- Qualitative Info
- Ordered Info
- Quantitative Info
a.] Absolute Quantities
b.] Relative Quantities

Thanks in advance! More power to Cartotalk! :D

Well, first of all welcome to Cartotalk.

I'm no expert on this matter, but here goes...

Quantitative information is information that can be expressed in numbers (e.g. "average rainfall is 300mm/year", "population density is 29 people per square km"). It can be measured.

Qualitative information is information that can't really be measured. It's got more to do with how people feel about something (e.g. "quality of living in this place is good", "Amsterdam is a cool place" and "puppies are cute")

Ordered information is, I guess, information with a certain "x is better here than there" component.

The type of information in turn dictates what kind of maps can be made with it.