• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

tgbrooks

tgbrooks

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • United States

I'm a high school student beginning a long-term project in which I would like to map local hiking and walking trails. I have already begun mapping them by walking along them with a GPS device recording my position. The results have been quite good, and certainly as good as I need them.

However, I am also interested in trying my hand at a mapping technique which can be done without GPSes. I am quite the beginner at this and have little idea where to begin. I have been researching surveying and cartography, but most of my findings have been more about surveying land, not trails. I would love to be pointed in the right direction. If you could let me know some good websites, books, or even just topics to Google, I'd be happy. I'm currently planning on reading "Mapping" by David Greenhood, as recommended in another thread here.

I am currently just trying to find out if this is even feasible given my time constraints (a couple months, so not too bad), lack of skill, and small budget. For my purposes, I could use pre-existing survey data of the surrounding land, only having to map out the actual trail on top of that. If this is not feasible, or only feasible for a small trail, that is fine.

Thanks in advance.

Matthew Hampton

Matthew Hampton

Hall of Fame

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,282 posts
  • Interests:Playing in the mountains and rivers.
  • United States

You could do it the "old fashioned way" and buy maps that others have made (USGS, NPS, etc.) and trace the trails.

I guess it really depends on what you want in the end. What is the finished product/goal that you are trying to achieve?

Oregon Metro - Portland, OR
www.oregonmetro.gov

patdunlavey

patdunlavey

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 27 posts
  • United States