Photo

What was the first straight line border?

- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

mikedax

mikedax

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • United States

I have a question that I am hoping someone might have an answer to.

I am a graduate student studying art at Maryland Institute College of Art in Baltimore Maryland. I have become interested in studying maps and navigation, as well as borders and the social implications. I have researched the Mason Dixon line and have read that it was a bit of a scientific marvel for it's time. I have also read that borders as straight lines based on latitude/longitude are mostly a colonial phenomenon that later was adopted by Australia and Africa because the vast open spaces were assumed to be unoccupied (except by the native peoples, but that is another project).

Was the Mason Dixon line the first major straight line border? I don't think it was, but I can't seem to figure out what was, and when it became a common practice.

Thank you for any help you might have,
Mike

P Riggs

P Riggs

Key Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 54 posts
  • Interests:Playing music; studying French language, culture, and history; listening to old time radio; learning and playing accordion; hiking, though I don't get to do much now with having young children, will change in the future; fly-fishing, same as hiking; reading
  • United States

You might pose this question the the maphist list group.
Philip Riggs
Decorative-Maps.com

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,868 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands

It depends on how *long* you want the straight segment to be. Even a squiggly border is made up of individual straight segments...
Hans van der Maarel - Cartotalk Editor
Red Geographics
Email: hans@redgeographics.com / Twitter: @redgeographics

M.Denil

M.Denil

Key Contributor