Queneau

Queneau

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Netherlands

Hello all,

I'm a cartographic newbie, but very interested in the field of cartography. I have been trained a graphic designer (BA+MA) for 6 years, and for the last two years I have been working as a graphic designer at a small design agency in Amsterdam. But I am looking to get into the business of cartography, which I have been interested in for a long time. I have been reading up on the classics (Mark Monmonier, Denis Wood, Denis Cosgrove, E. R. Tufte et al) and have experimented with infographics and maps for personal projects. I have a good knowledge of InDesign, Illustrator and Photoshop (but not of GIS related applications) and - more importantly - a love of maps.

I would like to know if you could help me weigh my options on getting into cartography. I am trying my hand at some maps as we speak, and I hope to post something on this forum in the near future... Next to that I would be interested in an internship in a company that specializes in cartography and/or infographics. But I'm not that familiar with the professional field in the Netherlands and Germany to know which companies would be interesting for me. I hope you can help me out!

A related question: do you know interesting companies in the area of Leipzig, Germany??

Thank you very much!

Greetings, Jeffrey
Jeffrey | Queneau

Graphic Designer
Netherlands

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,868 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands