7 replies to this topic

dwgold

dwgold

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • United States

Hi,

Dan Goldberg here from the USC GIS Research Lab. Just found this site recently and glad to join. I'm a phd student in computer science focusing on all things geocoding. The maps I make are currently hideous looking and I'm hoping to improve my cartographic skills with the info I can find on this site. I've seen lots of good stuff on here so far and I'm looking forward to reading more.

- dan

frax

frax

Hall of Fame

• Associate Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,310 posts
  • Interests:music, hiking, friends, nature, photography, traveling. and maps!
  • Sweden

Hi and welcome, I am sure that you can pick up a thing or two, and maybe teach us about the inner workings of geocoding! Don't be afraid to ask if there is anything.
Hugo Ahlenius
Nordpil - custom maps and GIS
http://nordpil.com/
Twitter

P Riggs

P Riggs

Key Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 54 posts
  • Interests:Playing music; studying French language, culture, and history; listening to old time radio; learning and playing accordion; hiking, though I don't get to do much now with having young children, will change in the future; fly-fishing, same as hiking; reading
  • United States

Welcome! What's your research subject? What software are you using to make maps?
Philip Riggs
Decorative-Maps.com

DaveB

DaveB

Hall of Fame

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,054 posts
  • United States

Welcome, Dan!
And remember, the fact that you recognize you have a problem means there's hope! ;)
Dave Barnes
Esri
Product Engineer
Map Geek

dwgold

dwgold

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • United States

Welcome! What's your research subject? What software are you using to make maps?