Mike Breiding

Key Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 87 posts
  • Interests:Cycling, Hiking, Natural History, Photgraphy, Travel, Food
  • United States

Greetings,

I am very new to AI, so please be patient.

I exported a map from ArcView GIS to a PDF
I then opened the PDF in AI CS 2 and saved it as an AI file.

The problem I am having is deleting sections with out deleting others.
The map is outlined with a blue box. This should be obvious what it is and what it is for, but I can find no example of it in the User Guide.
When I select the sections I want to delete it also selects the blue line box around the rest of the map.
When I delete the selections it also deletes other parts of the map I want to retain.

I cannot seem to deselect the blue lines on the whole map.

I can go in and select each segment, letter etc, but it seem there must be a better way

Here are screen shots:

http://mbreiding.us/delete_selections/

Here is the PDF. It is almost 2 meg is size.
http://mbreiding.us/..._Final_copy.pdf

Thanks,
-Mike

Rick Dey

Rick Dey

Legendary Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 302 posts
  • Interests:Illustrator, MAPublisher, GIS, Street Maps
  • United States

Mike,

You've got two things going on here causing you some problems. First it appears that you've got a duplicate layer in there that will just confuse the issue when deleting things, you might want to get rid of one of those first. Second, my guess is that you are using the Selection tool (black arrow) and not the Direct selection (white Arrow) or Group Selection tool (white arrow with plus). When the file was created all elements of the file were grouped together, selecting any one thing with the selection tool will select everything.