• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

ScottM

ScottM

• Pip
  • 2 posts
  • United States

Be gentle, I'm new at this and may get terms wrong. :rolleyes:

(Attempting to attach the map in question seems to have failed, even though as a .jpg it's small enough. So look at
http://picasaweb.goo...577941279990930
and use Picasa's download option, because the usual right-click/download just gives you a useless thumbnail.)

I have a map of a (mythical) world, represented as a bitmap. The world is a ball and the map is rectangular. The bitmap may not cover every point on the sphere, but anything not represented is ocean. So, you ask, what projection was used on this map? Well, despite having drawn it, I don't know.

I know that, like any other flat map of a curved place, the map has distortions. What I'd really like to be able to do is draw this map on a ball, so I could know what the continents "really" look like. Lacking a printer that writes on spheres, I'd at least like to be able to transform it to other, more standard projections (ideally one that I can cut up and glue to a ball).

I know the following about the map: the grid marks off squares, 300 miles on a side. I'd like that measurement to remain as accurate as possible, at least over a small number of squares. The sides of the squares are not N-S, E-W - obvious from the point that both the north and south pole are marked on the map and are not even at the edges. The circumference of the sphere is 24000 mi, but that's adjustable a bit if it makes things easier. If possible, I'd like to preserve "local shape", in that I'd like any small section of this map to represent the right approximate shape of things, even if overall it's entirely wrong. My life won't end if that's not possible.