6 replies to this topic

Horizonav

Horizonav

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Interests:Nautical charts, offshore navigation
  • United States

I have been a ship Captain for 37 years and I am a student of navigation and nautical charts. For years I have always made my own hand drawn custom charts for many areas and for many commercial uses. I did this out of necessity and also because it was alot of fun! I would literally cut and paste paper charts together to get what I needed. Then I would take the original down tho the reprographics place for a few copies usually on erasable velum. I have quite the chart library.

I am very computer literate and I am very interested in learning how to create the charts I need with computer based programs and methods. Any help would be appreciated! Thanks!

frax

frax

Hall of Fame

• Associate Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,310 posts
  • Interests:music, hiking, friends, nature, photography, traveling. and maps!
  • Sweden

Hi and welcome! Sounds like an interesting background, and I would love to hear more on how you approach this further.

I am not sure where to start in introducing you to modern cartography... Map-making often starts with acquiring the data and creating a database in a geographical information systems (GIS) software (ArcGIS, MapInfo, Manifold, qGIS etc) and either finish the map there or export it to a graphic design package for further finishing (Illustrator, Photoshop, Corel DRAW etc). Some people on this forum are using Avenza's MAPublisher which is a plugin for Illustrator which gives it some very basic GIS functionality.

Depending on what kind of charts you would make, the data acquisition might be the trickiest.
Hugo Ahlenius
Nordpil - custom maps and GIS
http://nordpil.com/
Twitter

Kimi

Kimi

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 32 posts
  • Canada