7 replies to this topic

Jared

Jared

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • United States

Hello!

I'm looking for some feedback on these maps. They're wind maps I put together with data available online. The idea is that they'd be to help determine where a wind farm could go. I'm not a professional in the field though, and because of that these are not for a real job, more an exercise, so look at them from a design perspective. Thanks for your comments!

Attached Files

Aris

Aris

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Greece

Hello!

I'm looking for some feedback on these maps. They're wind maps I put together with data available online. The idea is that they'd be to help determine where a wind farm could go. I'm not a professional in the field though, and because of that these are not for a real job, more an exercise, so look at them from a design perspective. Thanks for your comments!

Hello
I have to say that your maps look great. It would be really better though if the maps could have the contour lines as well. The problem i usually face in this kind of maps is that when you are really in need of finding a windy area you spend same hours trying to find out exactly which ridge is the one with the stronger wind. So usually you have the topo map next to the wind map. If you could have both at the same time it would help a lot.
Also i think the maps with the slope restriction are a bit confusing. If i understand correct the red areas are the ones with the wind higher than 7 and at the same time slopes less than 25deg, but the legend indicates only the wind criteria.
By the way if you are working in the renewable field we share the same field and you are the only one i came across the forum.

Aris

MapMedia

MapMedia

Hall of Fame

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,029 posts
  • United States

I agree with Aris. Great maps - good project idea.