- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

thruhiker

thruhiker

• Pip
  • 2 posts
  • No Country Selected

Hey guys, I'm a student in college, and I'm starting my first gis project. My topics are either the National Animal Identification System (NAIS) or the Key Deer of Florida. My being new to research, I'm having trouble coming up with specific goals to work towrd using gis. Can anyone suggest some ideas about how to fill out a project using this data? For instance, I was thinking a tracking analysis on specific bacteria via data from the NAIS program, or maybe an analysis on Key Deer relocation using factors such as island carrying capacity. Any suggestions would help--big ideas or small! Thanks for the help!

Drew

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,887 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands

Hi Drew, and welcome to Cartotalk.

Those are some rather broad questions. I would like to counter by asking you a question:

Which topic do you feel most connected to?

Immediately followed by:

For which topic is the most data available?

From the sounds of it, both could be very interested, though I'm leaning towards the Key Deer one. NAIS seems rather general.

So, if you were to choose for the deer, here's some steps to get you going (all written without knowing a single thing about those deer, so if I make an obvious mistake, please bear with me).

- Establish how big an area of land is needed to support one adult deer.
- Try to find out how many deer are currently living on the islands and from there, identify the ones that are stretched to their limits (in terms of supporting deer), or close to it.