5 replies to this topic

Patrakis

Patrakis

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Canada

Hello all,

I'm new to these lands but i am familiar with the ArcGIS family of products and i dabble in fantasy maping for my hobby that is D&D.

I wanted to know if anyone had ever tried to use GIS software to do fantasy maping. I find the idea of intputing a complete fantasy world and document it in a GIS environment very intriguing and wanted to know if anyone had tried it ... and maybe get pointers as too how to go about it.

Thanks in advance for any assistance.

Pat

François Goulet

François Goulet

Ultimate Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 688 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, History, Graphic Design and almost everything else...
  • Canada

Hi!

Fantasy maps aren't different than "real" maps. I haven't try it, but since the drawing capabilities are limited in ArcGIS (not impossible, but you don't have the tools of a graphic application like Illustrator and Photoshop), I'd look at MaPublisher to do it, and you could import it in ArcGIS after... For the rest, it would be "classic" mapping.

You should check Mike Schley's work in this topic. He have done some of the best Game maps I've seen and I don't know why it couldn't be done in GIS at some level. But for me, the big advantage of GIS for cartography is the reusability of the data you create. Past that, I've always export my maps in .ai format and finish them in Illustrator. If I had to make a single map, I would do it entirely in Illy or Photoshop. For a complete world, GIS could be an option.

frax

frax

Hall of Fame

• Associate Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,299 posts
  • Interests:music, hiking, friends, nature, photography, traveling. and maps!
  • Sweden

What would the point be to use GIS software for imaginary lands? I can only see the point if you are working with a big and established world that multiple people create maps for.