6 replies to this topic

Grigs2thaB

Grigs2thaB

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • United States

Howdy guys,

I just stumbled upon this site today and after looking around I really like it so far. Lots of good info and smart people floating around in here.

I'm posting this in order to ask you all for answers and advice...

I'm 24 and I graduated from UC Davis with a BA in Political Science and History last year. I then got a job at Google where I managed all the vehicles for Google Streetview and all sorts of other things. I've never really known what I wanted to do with my life but I've always loved maps. I've always been really interested in Geography and Cartography but have almost zero experience. I had some good introduction to a lot of stuff at Google but my contract ended with them and I'm unemployed (no fun in this economy!). I'm looking into getting a job with Airborne 1 as a LiDAR field operator down in LA so we'll see how that works out. Since I'm finally figuring out what I'd like to do with my life I come here asking for your advice on where to start?

Lately I've been considering taking a GIS certification class and getting a bit of experience and then going on to a MA program. BUT would it be a better idea to just go for a MA program right off the bat? Earliest I could apply now is for next spring or fall 2010. If you were in my shoes how would you go about getting good experience? I think going for GIS tech/analyst for a year or 2 would be great as well. Anyone in California need an intern, haha?

I know what I'd like to do but most jobs are out of reach at the moment because I have no experience.

I'm looking forward to hearing from you all and becoming an active member!

Thanks,
Matt

frax

frax

Hall of Fame

• Associate Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,309 posts
  • Interests:music, hiking, friends, nature, photography, traveling. and maps!
  • Sweden