Justin

Justin

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts
  • United States

Hi

This is my first project with MAPublisher, it is a map of German settlements in Texas. At one time, up until World War 1, over 90% of the population of six Texas counties spoke only German. After the war, it became so unpopular to be German that all of the Texas Germans taught their children only English and the language and culture died out. I thought it would be fun to make a map and timeline of Texas Germans to learn a little bit more about my local history and also the software.

I cant really make the map any larger on the layout as the text is already pretty small, but I dont have a lot of experience at laying out type and information along with a map. I am sure I could rearrange it to be more efficient (on the PDF mentioned below).

This is my first posting of a map i've made, but I would appreciate criticism and comments, thank you. Try not to be too brutal!

JPG preview http://www.aaroads.com/Justin/map.JPG

Entire PDF (10 MB) http://www.aaroads.c...in/GermanTX.PDF

Thanks
Justin

Attached Files

Dennis McClendon

Dennis McClendon

Hall of Fame

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,063 posts
  • Interests:map design, large-scale maps of cities
  • United States

Looks very nice to me. The content seems a little thin: just founding dates and some placename histories, right? On design, only two small things:

I would try to simplify the rivers and county lines. They are so complex that they sometimes double back on themselves.

I like the Copperplate typeface for county names, but I'm not a big fan of the optically generated small caps since the initial cap looks bolder than the rest of the word. I would just make county names all caps and slightly letterspaced.
Dennis McClendon, Chicago CartoGraphics
chicagocarto.com

Justin

Justin

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts
  • United States