12 replies to this topic

woneil

woneil

Will O'Neil

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 121 posts
  • United States

Recently there was an extended discussion of the work published by the National Center for Environmental Analysis and Synthesis (NCEAS), with tome well-deserved praise for it and a few suggestions. See http://www.cartotalk...p...66&hl=NCEAS.

NCEAS makes their data on individual contributors to oceanic degradation available at http://www.nceas.ucs...lMarine/impacts. I have been trying to make use of their shipping data, here summarized in a severely downsampled overview plot:
Attached File  NCEAS_shipping.jpg   483.01KB   103 downloads

To form their shipping tracks, NCEAS took a mass of mass of reported positions and connected them into coherent tracks using an algorithm. I have a lot of experience in trying to form tracks from scattered and sometimes corrupt position data and can well sympathize with the problems. It can be quite impossible to avoid false tracks.

Close examinaiton of the NCEAS shpping track plots shows much evidence of this. It is particularly easy to see in the region of the Bay of Bengal, Malay Peninsula, and S. Chna Sea, as shown here:
Attached File  Track_fan.jpg   206.64KB   108 downloads
(I have transformed their plot into equirectangular lat-long coordinates and multiplied it to bring out the patterns despite downsampling.)

We see a fan of individual tracks originating in the Bay of Bengal to the west, near the point at which shipping turns to enter the approaches to the Strait of Malacca, and proceeding thence to the coast of the peninsula. Then on the other side of the peninsula we see tracks that appear to be direct continuations emerging from the coast and proceeding to the main shipping route up the S. China Sea. As a former ship's officer and shipping analyst I am absolutely certain that virturally all of these tracks must be compuational artifacts.