bchubb

bchubb

Key Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Interests:Painting
  • Canada

I was asked in another forum for comments on OCAD. Though I have some experience with AutoCad and Arcview 3.1, I haven't used the usual programs used for cartography ( Illustrator, Photoshop, Coreldraw etc.) so it's hard to know where to begin. So, though I can't directly compare OCAD, here are some thoughts based on my experience... (and no... I'm not a shareholder ;) )

OCAD was originally developed as a vector drawing tool for tracing scanned images primarily for making orienteering maps and has progressed from there. The important point about OCAD I think, would be that it is primarily a symbol based vector drawing program, so though you can open raster images in the background, with some control over visible layers, their transparency and intensity, you can't directly edit pixels.

You can easily import georeferenced data and convert the data to symbols, but the ease of drawing and editing as well as the symbol creation/editing capabilies are what I would consider it's biggest strengths. There are so many other features including database connections and the ability to publish Internet maps, that I'd recommend looking at the Version8 Demo. The Demo is quite functional (mostly number of map objects and import/export limitations) and the menu should give a pretty good idea of what OCADs capabilities are. I'd be happy to answer any questions if I can.

I'll upload a couple maps/ links to maps I've produced in OCAD. Note that any raster images, hillshade etc. were edited elsewhere (usually Manifold) and opened as background images in OCAD.

HTH
Bryan

bryanchubb.ca
My paintings (...and no, my Avatar is Vera by Fredrick Varley)

frax

frax

Hall of Fame

• Associate Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,309 posts
  • Interests:music, hiking, friends, nature, photography, traveling. and maps!
  • Sweden