• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

kellyryan22

kellyryan22

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • United States

I'm a graphic designer who loves geography. I look at maps sometimes for hours, just studying them. This is my first attempt at reaching out in the world of cartography. I'm not really sure how to begin or how to go about getting my head around this interest. I often consider going back to school to focus in this area, but wanted to join this forum first. Perhaps I can get some first hand advice! Cartography seems like the natural next step for me. I am open to all comments or questions. Thanks!!

-Kelly

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,801 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands

Hello Kelly, and welcome to Cartotalk!

Getting back to school to get a degree in cartography is certainly an option worth considering. If I'm not mistaken we've had a thread here some time ago about the various cartography courses being offered.

Another option is to try out some stuff on your own. Since you already have a design background, you're not starting from square one. This may be rather daunting though.

One thing I would definately recommend is joining NACIS (North American Cartographic Information Society), and attending their annual event (Missoula, October 8th-11th). A lot of other Cartotalk members will be there and you'll get a chance to see what's happening in the Carto world.

Hope this helps.
Hans van der Maarel - Cartotalk Editor
Red Geographics
Email: hans@redgeographics.com / Twitter: @redgeographics

Dale Sanderson

Dale Sanderson

Master Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 136 posts
  • United States

I'm a graphic designer who loves geography. I look at maps sometimes for hours, just studying them...