• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

razornole

razornole

Legendary Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 451 posts
  • Interests:Photography, Cartography, Down-river canoeing, Backpacking, Cross country biking, Geomorphology, Ornithology, Ecology, Quaternary, and last but first; drinking beer on the beach.
  • United States

Hello all,

Had a slight break from my Nez Perce maps, so I took advantage of the time to work on some of my thesis maps. I'm studying the effects of hillslopes on trail erosion (geomorphology). My study sight is Olympic National Park because if its extreme diversity in all facets of science. As a cartographer, this is only one of many maps to come in my figures. That is why I have left off so many labels (they'll be covered in previous maps).
This is a generalized geologic map to help explain what I discuss in my thesis on the geology of the park. My study sites are delineated by watershed (again explained in other maps), and there will be a figure caption when I get to that point.
Is this communicative to you? I feel it is but I am prejudice.

Programs used are ArcMAP 9.2 and CS3.

kru

Attached Files

"Ah, to see the world with the eyes of the gods is geography--to know cities and tribes, mountains and rivers, earth and sea, this is our gift."
Strabo 22AD

Adam Wilbert

Adam Wilbert

Legendary Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 274 posts
  • United States

The map looks lovely! A couple of my impressions:

° Having the other maps I'm sure would help, but without them it took me a minute to notice the western-most study area, south of La Push. The two shades of pink don't visually separate as well as the green shades in the other areas.
° None of your study areas have any ice in them, but its in the legend. And there isn't much distinction between "white" and "pale white" anyway.