5 replies to this topic

kjmcgrath

kjmcgrath

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • United States

Greetings!

I am a student at the University of Wisconsin studying cartography and physical geography. I am particularly interested in terrain representation I hope to have a few questions answered.

This coming semester I am working on an independent study course in which I will focus on terrain representation. I plan on reading Imhof's book Cartographic Relief Presentation and looking at the work of Imhof, Patterson and others who produce shaded reliefs. What other resources could you suggest for someone in my posistion?

I plan on experimenting with manual techniques for creating Hillshades both on paper and in photoshop, what tips or tricks have otehrs found usful when starting out?

I've seen Tom Patterson's excellent shadded relife site and reliefshading.com and was wondering if anyone could think of any other resources for a very beginner and others for when I get the hang of it. Some of these tutorials and posts show what seems to me refienment of hillshades done in arc or the like. I have dones some reasonalby good looking hillshades using arc and Patterson's bump mapping technique so I am not completely new to the topic using a GIS.

When you create shaded reliefs are they frequently done in Arc or some other GIS suite and then touched up in photoshop or is there another method? primarily manually in photoshop? What other techniques or processes are important for someone interested in terrain representation? overlay topo maps on dem? creation of dem from topo? others?

I am trying to fit as much as possible into this next semester to become competent at producing maps with (hopefully) good looking terrain.

Thank you so much for you time. Any and all advice or suggestions that you could give to an aspiring cartographer would be greatly appreciated! Thanks again!

Be Well

Edited by kjmcgrath, 14 July 2008 - 12:17 PM.

DaveB

DaveB

Hall of Fame